Texas Remote Marriage License Issuance System
Powered by GovOS
Complete the entire marriage license application process online
Welcome! This is a first-of-its-kind system allows couples marrying in Texas to complete the entire marriage licensing process online, from application to certificate issuance, from anywhere at any time. This system also includes video call functionality so a Clerk can witness your oathes online, and automated updates to keep you apprised of the status of your application and license.
Obtaining Your Marriage License
A marriage license is required for any individuals wishing to wed.
Here’s what you’ll need:
- Fee: Marriage license fees are collected via a credit card during the online process.
- Proof of Identity and Age: Under the Texas Family Code, the County Clerk requires proof of identity and age of each applicant.
- Age Requirements: Effective 9/1/2017 SB 1705—Persons under 18 years of age will require a court order removing the disabilities of minority status for general purposes. Renders void any marriage if either party to the marriage is younger than 18 of age and has failed to obtain the prerequisite order. See Texas Family Code 2.003. Applies to an application for a marriage license filed on or after the effective date of the bill.
Steps to obtain license:
- You will start by completing the online application. The application includes confirming you are eligible to wed in Texas.
- The Clerk will ask both parties several questions under oath. The couple will be asked to verify their information for accuracy and once finalized, each will be asked to sign the document.
How soon after obtaining the marriage license can we get married?
- You can get married beginning 72 hours after you get your marriage license. The marriage license is valid for 90 days. The individual conducting the wedding must complete the license and return it to the County Clerk’s office within 30 days after the ceremony is conducted.
- The 72-hour timeframe can be waived if you qualify under one of the exceptions listed below:
- A qualified District or County Court at Law Judge may issue a waiver to permit a marriage to take place before the 72 hours period if good cause is found. The Judge has the option to approve the waiver or deny the request. A Justice of the Peace is not able to provide a waiver.
- Automatic Waivers are granted if:
- You are a member of the United States Armed Forces, and you are on active duty;
- You work for the U.S. Department of Defense as an employee or under contract;
- You have completed a premarital education course, including Texas Twogether.
- Each applicant is required to present their social security number (if applicable).
- Applicants under the age of 18 (minors) residents of Texas and out of state, must petition a court for the removal of the disabilities of a minor before applying for a marriage license in Texas. All minors must appear and provide to the county clerk a certified copy of the court order “Removal of Disabilities of Minority” granted by the state of Texas or another state, in order for the minor to apply for a marriage license. This applies to all minor marriages filed after 09/01/17. (section 2.003 Texas Family Code).
- The county clerk may not issue a marriage license if either applicant indicates that the applicant has been divorced within the last 30 days unless: (A) the applicants were divorced from each other; or (B) the prohibition against remarriage is waived by the court (section 2.009 Texas Family Code).
- If a marriage ceremony has not been conducted before the 90th day after the date the license was issued, the Marriage License expires. (section 2.201 Texas Family Code).
- The state of Texas does not require a blood test.
- It is the applicants’ responsibility to set up the appointment with the person who is conducting the marriage ceremony.
Ready to start the process?
Click here and follow the prompts on your screen.